User login

You are here

Announcing the Launch of the Eshelby-UH Mechanics Award for Young Faculty

Pradeep Sharma's picture

It is my pleasure to announce the launch of the "Eshelby-UH Mechanics Award for Young Faculty". This award will be given annually to rapidly emerging junior faculty who exemplify the creative use and development of mechanics. The intent of the award is to promote the field of mechanics, especially among young researchers. While interdisciplinary work that bridges mechanics with physics, chemistry, biology and other disciplines is encouraged, the ideal awardee will demonstrate clear inspiration from mechanics in his/her research.

The award will consist of $ 1500 cash, a commemorative plaque, and a widely attended distinguished lecture at the University of Houston (to be consummated within the year of the award). The lecture will be recorded live and, along with the acceptance speech, will be made available (with permission from the awardee) on YouTube and iMechanica.

Eligibility: The nominee must be below the age of forty and in a tenured or tenure-track faculty position or an independent researcher in a national laboratory. Exceptions to the age limitation may be made for both men and women that have taken career breaks for family reasons or have had a late entry into their independent research careers. Faculty from the University of Houston are not eligible to nominate, be nominated or endorse any candidate.

Nomination and Selection: The nominator should fill the attached form and in addition to his/her own letter, attach recommendation letters from two other researchers. The remainder of the nomination package will simply consist of the nominee's detailed curriculum vitae. The entire package should be emailed as a single pdf to by December 5th of every year. Nominations and recommendations letters from PhD and Post-Doctoral advisors are discouraged. The selection committee will consist of five distinguished mechanics faculty from around the world.

Subscribe to Comments for "Announcing the Launch of the Eshelby-UH Mechanics Award for Young Faculty"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate