Vicky Nguyen and Kaushik Dayal are Recipients of the Inaugural Eshleby Mechanics Award for Young Faculty

Pradeep Sharma's picture

It gives me great pleasure to announce the outcome of the inaugural competition for the Eshelby Mechanics Award for Young Faculty. This award, created in 2012, will be annually given to rapidly emerging junior faculty who exemplify the creative use and development of mechanics. The intent of the award is to promote the field of mechanics, especially among young researchers. The selection committee consisted of: K. Ravi-chandar (UT Austin), Huajian Gao (Brown University), Kaushik Bhattacharya (Caltech), Roger Fosdick (Minnesota University), and Yonggang Huang (Northwestern University).

The selection committee received several high quality nominations. This year, the award will be given jointly to Professors Vicky Nguyen (Johns Hopkins University) and Kaushik Dayal (Carnegie-Mellon University). Each of them will be given a cash-award of $ 1500 and a commemorative plaque.

Zhigang Suo's picture

Congratulations to Vicky and Kaushik

Congratulations to the winners!  Also congratulate to Pradeep on a well conceived idea brilliantly executed.

Pradeep Sharma's picture

Zhigang, thanks for your

Zhigang, thanks for your kind words...I will take this opportunity to encouarge fellow mechanicians to be active in nominating deserving colleagues.

Xuanhe Zhao's picture

Congratulations to Vickey

Congratulations to Vickey and Kaushik! Wonderful job, Pradeep!

vinh phu nguyen's picture

Congratulations to Prof. Nguyen

Congratulations to Prof. Nguyen!