User login


You are here

EMI announces the winners of prestigious mechanics awards




EMI, the Engineering Mechanics Institute of ASCE, is pleased to announce the winners of several prestigious mechanics awards.

ASCE Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prizes

Prof. José E. Andrade, Ph.D., M.ASCE (Caltech) is honored for "revolutionizing the field of granular geomaterials by replacing heuristic methodologies with rigorous multiscale modeling approaches based on scientific understanding of the mechanics and physics across scales and for defining new frontiers for the civil engineering profession including planetary exploration."

Prof. Yuri Bazilevs, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE (University of California San Diego) is honored for “pioneering work in the development of isogeometric analysis and its applications to problems in mechanics of fluids, solids, and structures and foe the development of core and special-purpose FSI methods and their pioneering applications in wind energy and extreme-events modeling.

Zdenek P. Bažant Medal for Failure and Damage Prevention

Prof. Yonggang Huang, Ph.D., M.ASCE, NAE (Northwestern University) has been selected for “pioneering work on macro-, micro-, and nano-scale fracture, and application to transfer printing.

Jack E. Cermak Medal(Joint with the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE)

Professor Emeritus Hans-Jϋrgen Niemann, Dr. Ing. Habil (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany) has been selected for “introducing the field of wind engineering to practice and his research on the interaction of wind and structures that led to the design of safe and reliable engineering structures.”

Alfred M. Freudenthal Medal

Prof. Zdenĕk P. Bažant, Ph.D., S.E., NAE, NAS, F.EMI, Hon.M.ASCE, NAE(Northwestern University) has been selected for “developing a comprehensive theory of probabilistic, mechanics of strength, lifetime, and size effect of quasi-brittle structures.

George W. Housner Structural Control and Monitoring Medal

Prof. Oral Buyukozturk, Ph.D., M.ASCE (M.I.T.) has been selected for “pioneering and transformative developments in video-based structural sensing and identification, interferometry-based data analytics, high-efficiency generic wireless networks, and their integration with groundbreaking engineering mechanics research and practice for enhancing civil infrastructural resilience and sustainability.”

Raymond D. Mindlin Medal

Prof. James R. Rice, Ph.D., M.ASCE, NAE (Harvard University) has been selected for “pioneering work in continuum mechanics with applications to various engineering materials and natural processes.

Theodore von Kármán Medal

Prof. J. N. Reddy, Ph.D. (Texas A & M University) has been selected for “fundamental contributions to shear deformation theories of plates and shells and their applications as well as the authorship of well-received textbooks that have lasting impact on engineering mechanics education.

Nathan M. Newmark Medal(Joint with the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE)

Prof. Billie F. Spencer, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) has been selected for “pioneering work, innovations, and leadership in the theory and application of advanced technologies to fundamental problems in structural engineering and mechanics, as well as for his unwavering commitment to education/mentoring of students and professional service.

EMI Leonardo da Vinci Award

Prof. WaiChing Sun, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE (Columbia University) has been selected "for his fundamental contributions to computational multiscale poromechanics."

Congratulations to all the award winners!

These awards will be presented on May 31 at the banquet and awards ceremony of the EMI 2018 conference at M.I.T. in Cambridge, MA.

Subscribe to Comments for "EMI announces the winners of prestigious mechanics awards"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate