User login


You are here

Applied Mechanics Division of ASME

The Applied Mechanics Division (AMD) of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) strives to foster the intelligent use of mechanics by engineers and to develop this science to serve the needs of the engineering community. The AMD was founded in 1927 with Stephen Timoshenko as its first chair. AMD’s publications include the Newsletters of the Applied Mechanics Division, the Journal of Applied Mechanics, and Applied Mechanics Reviews.

It is headed by its Executive Committee and includes a number of Technical Committees. The division awards several Awards on an annual basis. For further information, see also AMD’s website at ASME.

Executive Committee:

The division is headed by its Executive Committee (EC) whose current members are:

Yonggang Huang (Chair, Northwestern University) 

Yuri Bazilevs (Vice-Chair, University of California San Diego)

Pradeed Guru (Program Chair, Brown University)

Taher Saif (Program Vice-Chair, University of Illinois)

Marco Amabili (Secretary, McGill University)

Celia Reina (Recording Secretary, University of Pennsylvania)

Pedro Reis (Newsletter Editor, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)

Technical Comittees:

The division includes a number of Technical Committees (TCs) whose mission is to promote a specific field in Applied Mechanics. The Technical Committees are the main organizers of symposia at the AMD Summer and Winter Meetings. Technical Committees generally meet at the Winter Annual Meeting and the Summer Meeting; they may also schedule special meetings. Current TCs and their leadership are:

    AMD-MD Joint Committee on Constitutive Equations:
    Chair Brian Jordon, University of Alabama College of Engineering
    Vice-Chair Paul G. Allison, University of Alabama College of Engineering

    Composite Materials:
    Chair Caglar Oskay, Vanderbilt University
    Vice-Chair Anastasia Muliana, Texas A&M

    Computing In Applied Mechanics:
    Chair Glaucio Paulino, University of Illinois-Urbana
    Vice-Chair Jiun-Shyan Chen, University of California at Los Angeles

    Dynamics and Control of Structures and Systems:
    Chair Dumitru Caruntu, University of Texas - Pan Am

    Dynamic Response of Materials:
    Chair Philippe H. Guebelle, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

    Fracture and Failure Mechanics:
    Chair Huck Beng Chew, University of Illinois-Urbana
    Vice-Chair Ashfaq Adnan, University of Texas at Arlington

    Chair Jianliang Xiao, University of Colorado, Boulder 
    Vice-Chair Cunjiang Yu, University of Houston

    Experimental Mechanics:
    Chair Ryan Berke, Utah State University
    Vice-Chair Owen Kingstedt, University of Utah

    Chair Anil Misra, University of Kansas

    Materials Processing and Manufacturing:
    Chair Yuris Dzenis, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

    Fluid Mechanics:
    Chair Arif Masud, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

    Instability in Solids and Structures
    Chair Ryan ElliotUniversity of Minnesota
    Vice-Chair Stavros GaitanarosJohns Hopkins University 
    Vice-Chair Kostas Danas, Ecole Polytechnique, France 
    Vice-Chair Francisco Lopez Jimenez, University of Colorado, Boulder 
Dai Okumura, Nagoya University 

    Applied Mechanics Education:
    Chair Sanjeev K. Khanna, University of Missouri

    Uncertainty, Probabilistics and Reliability:
    Chair Mustapha Fofana, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
    Vice-Chair Christopher D. Cassino, Westinghouse Electric

    Committee on Integrated Structures:
    Chair Nanshu Lu, University of Maryland

    Mechanics in Biology and Medicine:
    Chair Sulin Zhang, Penn State

    Committee on Fluid-Structure Interaction:
    Chair Artem Korobenko, University of Calgary
    Vice-Chair Jinhui Yan, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

    Mechanics of Soft Materials:
    Chair Shengqiang Cai, University of California, San Diego
    Vice-Chair Sung Hoon Kang, Johns Hopkins University 


Honors and Awards:

The AMD awards the following distinctions and presents the awards every year at their AMD Banquet at ASME’s IMECE. There are three society-level awards:

•    Timoshenko Medal
•    Daniel C. Drucker Medal
•    Warner T. Koiter Medal

and the following division-level awards:

•    Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Division Award
•    Thomas J. R. Hughes Young Investigator Award
•    Thomas K. Caughey Dynamics Award

The Executive Committee also administers the following awards:

•    AMD Haythornthwaite Foundation Research Institution Grant
•    Student Travel Grants
•    Student Best Paper Awards

Subscribe to Comments for "Applied Mechanics Division of ASME"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate