User login


You are here

Professors John Rogers and Ares Rosakis elected to NAE

Jianliang Xiao's picture

Professors John Rogers and Ares Rosakis were elected to NAE, among the 68 new NAE members. 

John A. Rogers, Lee J. Flory-Founder Chair in Engineering, department of materials science and engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. For novel electronic and optoelectronic devices and systems.

Ares J. Rosakis, Theodore von Kármán Professor of Aeronautics and professor of mechanical engineering, and chair, division of engineering and applied science, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena. For discovery of intersonic rupture, contributions to understanding dynamic failure, and methods to determine stresses in thin-film structures.

The news was released on February 8, 2011, at NAE website.


L. Roy Xu's picture

As one of Professor Rosakis' previsous Ph.D. students, I always feel the passion on scientifc
research from Prof. Rosakis. Indeed, our solid mechanics or specfic fracture
mechanics could be very boring but he's always exciting about all kinds of new dynamic failure phomena we found.   I recalled he carefully read my negatives
from a film high-speed carema (before digital carema) and  explored every detail.

 He is a great instructor and speaker also. I heard that Prof. Rosakis practised his seminars in front of
mirrors. His fracture mechanics or continuum mechanics lecturers were well prepared. One day, he had cold from a trip but still came to the class. 

He's very serious about scientifc resaerch and education. Meanwhile, he's quite friendly and fair.  I was waiting for this news many years ago, and now my dream comes true. Here is his website- you can find some interesting dynamic failure movies from high-speed photography:


Subscribe to Comments for "Professors John Rogers and Ares Rosakis elected to NAE"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate