User login


You are here

Haythornthwaite Foundation and the Appplied Mechanics Divsion of ASME - 2013 Research Initiation Grant Awards

Haythornthwaite Foundation and the Applied Mechanics Division - 2013 Research Initiation Grant Awards

This year the Applied Mechanics Division, through the generosity the Haythornthwaite Foundation, awarded three Haythornthwaite Research Initiation Grants.  Also, this year the Applied Mechanics Division funded a fourth grant. These grants target university faculty that are at the beginning of their academic careers engaged in research in theoretical and applied mechanics.  The awardees will complete at least a portion of the proposed effort within the next year and report their results in an oral or poster presentation at the IMECE 2014 in Montreal, Quebec.  This year the recipients of the 2013 awards were:

AMD Funded:
Meredith Silberstein: Cornell University –
Mechanochemically Active Polymers: Development and Validation of Theory

Haythornthwaite Foundation Funded: 
Addis Kidane: University of South Carolina –
A Novel 3D Full-Field Deformation Measurement at a Temperature Higher Than 1000 0C
Steven Cranford: Northeastern University –
Multi-phase Topologically Controlled Structural Fuses Inspired by the Mussel Byssus
Christian Linder: Stanford University –
Design of Nanostructured Electrode Materials in Microfluidic Microbial Fuel Cells

The Robert M. and Mary Haythornthwaite Foundation has been a generous supporter of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division (AMD).  The Foundation supports scientific research, primarily research in the field of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics. Robert Haythornthwaite was founder and first President of the American Academy of Mechanics. Additional information about the Foundation can be found at:

 Larry Bergman, Chair

AMD Executive Committee

Subscribe to Comments for "Haythornthwaite Foundation and the Appplied Mechanics Divsion of ASME - 2013 Research Initiation Grant Awards"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate