User login


You are here

2018 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award – Professor Tayfun Tezduyar

The Executive Committee of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division is pleased to announce and congratulate Professor Tayfun Tezduyar, James F. Barbour Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Rice University, as recipient of the 2018 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Division Award. This award, which includes a medal, a plaque, and an honorarium, will be presented at the AMD Honors and Awards Banquet, tentatively scheduled on Tuesday, November 13, 2018, during the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition, to be held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, November 9-15, 2018.

The Applied Mechanics Award was established in 1988 and renamed the Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award in 2008. This Award is given to an outstanding individual for significant contributions in the practice of engineering mechanics; contributions may result from innovation, research, design, leadership or education.

Professor Tezduyar received this award for developing and leading the field of modern computational fluid-structure interaction (FSI), creating enabling technology for simulating the most challenging classes of FSI such as particle-laden flows, spacecraft parachutes, patient-specific cardiovascular fluid mechanics, and bioinspired flapping-wing fluid mechanics.

Pradeep Sharma, Chair

AMD Executive Committee

Subscribe to Comments for "2018 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award – Professor Tayfun Tezduyar"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate