User login


You are here

2018 Warner T. Koiter Medal – Professor Taher Saif

The Executive Committee of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division is pleased to announce and congratulate Professor Taher Saif, Edward William and Jane Marr Gutgsell Professor of Mechanical Science and Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, as the recipient of the 2018 Warner T. Koiter Medal. This award, which includes a medal, a plaque, and an honorarium, will be presented at the AMD Honors and Awards Banquet, tentatively scheduled on Tuesday, November 13, 2018, during the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition, to be held in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, November 12-15, 2018.

The Warner T. Koiter Medal, established in 1996, is bestowed in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of solid mechanics with special emphasis on the effective blending of theoretical and applied elements of the discipline, and on a high degree of leadership in the international solid mechanics community. The award was funded by the Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands, to honor Warner T. Koiter for his fundamental work in nonlinear stability of structures in the most general sense, for his diligence in the effective application of these theories, his international leadership in mechanics, and his effectiveness as a teacher and researcher.

Professor Saif receives the Koiter Medal for employing principles of mechanics to explore phenomena at small scale providing the first evidence of (a) plastic strain recovery in nanograined metals, and (b) neuronal tension and its influence on neurotransmission; as well as providing leadership in promoting mechanics research in frontier areas.

Pradeep Sharma, Chair
AMD Executive Committee


Zhengwei Li's picture

My heartiest congratulations to Professor Saif! Well deserved!

Subscribe to Comments for "2018 Warner T. Koiter Medal – Professor Taher Saif"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate