User login


You are here

2023 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award – Professor Jian Cao

The Executive Committee of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division is pleased to congratulate Professor Jian Cao, Cardiss Collins Professor of Mechanical Engineering and (by courtesy) Civil and Environmental Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering, Northwestern University, as the recipient of the 2023 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award. This award, which includes a medal, a certificate, and an honorarium, will be presented at the AMD Honors and Awards Banquet, during the 2023 ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition (IMECE 2023), to be held during October 29 – November 2, 2023, at the New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, New Orleans, LA.

The Applied Mechanics Award was established in 1988 and renamed the Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award in 2008. This Award is given to an outstanding individual for significant contributions in the practice of engineering mechanics; contributions may result from innovation, research, design, leadership or education.

Professor Cao is being recognized for her technical contributions in advancing engineering mechanics for energy-efficiency manufacturing through novel characterization and modeling methods and for her leadership in converging research that bridges mechanics, materials, manufacturing and data science communities. 


Taher Saif

Chair, ASME Applied Mechanics Division


Subscribe to Comments for "2023 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award – Professor Jian Cao"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate