User login

Navigation

You are here

Extension: Call for abstracts, USNCCM 2023: Recent Advances in discretization techniques, element technology, and mesh adaptivity for inelasticity, localization, and failure

Alejandro Mota's picture

Dear colleagues and friends,

On the occasion of the 17th US National Congress on Computational Mechanics (USNCCM 2023, https://17.usnccm.org/) to be held in Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA on July 23-27, 2023, we are organizing the mini symposium

Recent Advances in discretization techniques, element technology, and mesh adaptivity for inelasticity, localization, and failure (MS 324) 

We would like to invire you to submit an abstract to our mini symposium. Abstract submission is open and will remain open until January 31st, 2023. Information on submitting an abstract may be found at: https://17.usnccm.org/ab_sub.

In this minisymposium we seek to highlight challenging problems in computational solid mechanics that require rapid modeling building and mesh adaptivity for solution. We focus on the finite element method and relevant   element technologies for large deformations and accompanying inelasticity, localization, and failure. Discussion will center on Lagrangian descriptions and the necessary computational components to resolve, preserve, and evolve the fields that govern these processes. Prototypical material systems may include, but are not limited to, polymers, structural metals, and biomaterials.

Topics of interest:

·      Novel methods for discretization

·      Global and local remeshing including topological changes and smoothing

·      Field recovery

·      Mapping of internal variables

·      Tetrahedral, hexahedral, and other 3D element technology

Session Organizers: 

James W. Foulk III, Sandia National Laboratory, jwfoulk@sandia.gov

Alejandro Mota, Sandia National Laboratory, amota@sandia.gov

Brandon Talamini, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, talamini1@llnl.gov

Michael Tupek, PTC, mrtupek@gmail.com

Julian Rimoli, University of California, Irvine, jrimoli@uci.edu 

N. Sukumar, University of California, Davis, nsukumar@ucdavis.edu

Subscribe to Comments for "Extension: Call for abstracts, USNCCM 2023: Recent Advances in discretization techniques, element technology, and mesh adaptivity for inelasticity, localization, and failure"

More comments

Syndicate

Subscribe to Syndicate