User login


You are here

2022 Warner T. Koiter Medal – Professor Vikram Deshpande

The Executive Committee of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division is pleased to congratulate Professor Vikram Deshpande, Professor of Materials Engineering, University of Cambridge, as the recipient of the 2022 Warner T. Koiter Medal. This award, which includes a medal, a plaque, and an honorarium, will be presented at the Applied Mechanics Division Awards Dinner, during the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition(IMECE 2022), to be held during October 30 – November 3, 2022, at the Greater Columbus Convention Center in Columbus, Ohio.

The Warner T. Koiter Medal, established in 1996, is bestowed in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of solid mechanics with special emphasis on the effective blending of theoretical and applied elements of the discipline, and on a high degree of leadership in the international solid mechanics community. The award was funded by the Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands, to honor Warner T. Koiter for his fundamental work in nonlinear stability of structures in the most general sense, for his diligence in the effective application of these theories, his international leadership in mechanics, and his effectiveness as a teacher and researcher. 

Professor Deshpande receives the Koiter Medal for fundamental contributions in the mechanics of materials, ranging from the design of micro-architectured materials to the development of blast-resistant structures, which have had a profound impact in engineering science and related technologies.

Pradeep Guduru

Chair, ASME Applied Mechanics Division 

Subscribe to Comments for "2022 Warner T. Koiter Medal – Professor Vikram Deshpande"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate