User login


You are here

2016 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award - Professor Andrea Prosperetti

The Executive Committee of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division is pleased to announce and congratulate Professor Andrea Prosperetti, Charles A. Miller, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Johns Hopkins University, as the recipient of the 2016 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award. This award, which includes a medal, a plaque, and an honorarium of $1,500, will be presented at the AMD Honors and Awards Banquet, tentatively scheduled on Tuesday, November 15, 2016, during the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition, to be held in Phoenix, Arizona, November 11-17, 2016.

The Applied Mechanics Award was established in 1988 and renamed the Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award in 2008. The Award is given to an outstanding individual for significant contributions in the practice of engineering mechanics; contributions may result from innovation, research, design, leadership or education.

Professor Prosperetti has established a systematic way to develop averaged equation models of dispersed multiphase flows. He developed the theoretical framework of deriving the averaged equations for dispersed multiphase flows using the ensemble averaging technique. He and his co-workers also developed novel methods for the direct numerical simulation of dispersed multiphase flows and used these methods to model the derived averaged equations.

Peter Wriggers, Chair
AMD Executive Committee


Sung Hoon Kang's picture

Congratulations again, Andrea!

Subscribe to Comments for "2016 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award - Professor Andrea Prosperetti"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate