User login


You are here

2018 IMECE Student Travel Award Competition

The Applied Mechanics Executive Committee (AMD-EC) is pleased to announce the 2018 IMECE student travel award competition, which is sponsored by the Haythornthwaite Foundation*.

Students can self-nominate and are required to send a brief one-page CV, a recommendation letter from the student’s Faculty Advisor or Department Chair, the abstract of a paper accepted for presentation at IMECE in Track 12, and a draft presentation. Please note that, at the time of the award presentation, the applicant must be enrolled full-time in a degree program at a US institution. A Faculty Advisor may not endorse more than one student. The nominations will be reviewed by the AMD-EC. Ten students will be selected for travel grants of $1000 each.


July 30, 2018: Submit the nomination, by e-mail, to Professors Yuri Bazilevs <> and Pradeep Guduru <>. The nomination should include: (a) CV of the applicant (one page); (b) Title and abstract of a paper accepted for presentation in Track 12 at IMECE 2018; (c) Recommendation letter from the Faculty Advisor or Department Chair.

August 12, 2018: Travel awards will be announced to the winners.

November 2018:  Travel award winners will be acknowledged at the AMD Awards Banquet at IMECE 2018.

* The Robert M. and Mary Haythornthwaite Foundation supports scientific research in the field of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics. Robert Haythornthwaite was a founder and first President of the American Academy of Mechanics. Additional information about the Foundation can be found at

Subscribe to Comments for "2018 IMECE Student Travel Award Competition"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate