User login


You are here

2019 Stephen P. Timoshenko Medal - Professor J. N. Reddy

The Executive Committee of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division is pleased to announce and congratulate Professor J. N. Reddy, Oscar S. Wyatt Jr. Chair Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Texas A&M University, as the recipient of the 2019 Timoshenko Medal.  This award, which includes a medal, a plaque, and an honorarium, will be presented at the AMD Honors and Awards Banquet, tentatively scheduled for Tuesday, November 12, 2019, during the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition, to be held in Salt Lake City, Utah, November 8-14, 2019. As a part of a tradition, toward the end of the Applied Mechanics Banquet, the Timoshenko Medalist of the year will deliver a speech upon receiving the Medal.

The Timoshenko Medal was established in 1957 and is conferred in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of applied mechanics. Instituted by the Applied Mechanics Division, it honors Stephen P. Timoshenko, world-renowned authority in the field, and it commemorates his contributions as author and teacher.

Professor Reddy receives the Timoshenko Medal for life-time contributions to research and education in applied mechanics through the authorship of creative and highly-cited papers on variational principles, refined theories of plates and shells, computational methods, and nonlocal theories, and textbooks that have impacted generations of engineers.

Balakumar Balachandran

Chair, ASME Applied Mechanics Division


Shailendra's picture

Many Congratulations JN! Your enthusiasm and dedication to the profession are infectious.

Looking forward to the ceremony! 



Subscribe to Comments for "2019 Stephen P. Timoshenko Medal - Professor J. N. Reddy"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate