User login


You are here

2021 Stephen P. Timoshenko Medal - Professor Huajian Gao

The Executive Committee of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division is pleased to announce and congratulate Huajian Gao, Distinguished University Professor of the College of Engineering and College of Science, Nanyang Technological University in Singapore, as the recipient of the 2021 Timoshenko Medal.  This award, which includes a medal, a plaque, and an honorarium, will be presented at the Applied Mechanics Division Awards Ceremony, during the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition, to be held virtually, on November 1-5, 2021.

The Timoshenko Medal was established in 1957 and is conferred in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of applied mechanics. Instituted by the Applied Mechanics Division, it honors Stephen P. Timoshenko, world-renowned authority in the field, and it commemorates his contributions as author and teacher.

Professor Gao receives the Timoshenko Medal for pioneering contributions to nanomechanics of engineering and biological systems, a new research field at the interface of solid mechanics, materials science and biophysics.

Yuri Bazilevs

Chair, ASME Applied Mechanics Division

Subscribe to Comments for "2021 Stephen P. Timoshenko Medal - Professor Huajian Gao"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate