User login


You are here

2022 Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award - Professor Nanshu Lu and Professor Shawn Chester

The Executive Committee of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division is pleased to announce and congratulate Professor Nanshu Lu, Associate Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, University of Texas at Austin, and Professor Shawn A. Chester, Associate Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department, New Jersey Institute of Technology, as the recipients of the 2022 Thomas J. R. Hughes Young Investigator Award.  This award, which includes a medal, a certificate, and an honorarium, will be presented at the AMD Honors and Awards Banquet, during the 2022 ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition, the dates and location of which will be announced by ASME in due course.

The Young Investigator Award was established in 1998 and renamed the Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award in 2008. The Award recognizes special achievements in Applied Mechanics for researchers under the age of 41.

Professor Lu is being recognized for innovative contributions to the development of the mechanics, manufacturing methods and implementation of bio-conformable electronics for mobile health and human-machine interaction.

Professor Chester is being recognized for outstanding research contributions to mechanics of soft materials that are becoming part of the core knowledge of the field and are having a significant impact on its development.

Pradeep Guduru

Chair, ASME Applied Mechanics Division 

Subscribe to Comments for "2022 Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award - Professor Nanshu Lu and Professor Shawn Chester"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate