User login


You are here


In Memoriam: Professor Dusan Krajcinovic

Dusan Krajcinovic (1935-2007)Dusan Krajcinovic received his Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Civil Engineering from the University of Belgrade (1958, 1966) and his PhD in Civil Engineering from Northwestern University in 1968, working with Prof. George Hermann.

Ravi-Chandar's picture

2008 ASME Applied Mechanics Awards Recipients Announced

The Applied Mechanics Division (AMD) of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers is pleased to announce the winners of the 2008 awards.

ASME Society Level Awards
Timoshenko Medal
:                                  Sia Nemat-Nasser, University of California, San Diego
Warner T. Koiter Medal:                          Richard D. James, University of Minnesota
Daniel C. Drucker Medal:                       Thomas C.T. Ting, Stanford University

Qunyang Li's picture

Professor Shih receives Honorary Degree from Brown University



Brown University announced on May 6th 2008 that NUS president Shih Choon Fong is one of the seven honorary degree recipients in this year's commencement. The announcement reads as follows: 


Jianliang Xiao's picture

National Medal of Science Symposium Honors Jan Achenbach and Tobin Marks

In honor of its two recent National Medal of Science recipients, Jan Achenbach and Tobin Marks, Northwestern University held a National Medal of Science Symposium on May 14.

Achenbach and Marks received their medals at a White House ceremony in July 2007. The medal honors individuals for “pioneering scientific research in a range of fields, including physical, biological, mathematical, social, behavioral and engineering sciences, that enhances our understanding of the world and leads to innovations and technologies that give the United States its global economic edge.”

Mike Ciavarella's picture

Perhaps we should make a useful exercise for iMechanicians

Zhigang, about defining "esthablished", I am worried people may consider arbitrary your "definition" -- not me, you can do as you like!

But look that even somebody as weak as me could be in the list you propose!!, and for different criteria! Only Nix and Hutchinson really stand high in the lists as "esthablished". Incidentally, congratulations: the most cited paper of Hutchinson is that with you.

1) It may be useful to list the h index of all the imechanica users

Mike Ciavarella's picture

a review of a paper by HD Bui found in the internet !!

dear iMechanica friends

I came across a review of a paper by HD Bui who was somewhere in the internet, and I find it is very interesting. I could even have written this review myself !!  I don't think the reviewer exaggerates....


Hanqing Jiang's picture

Yonggang Huang was awarded the Guggenheim Fellowship in 2008

Prof. Yonggang Huang of Northwestern University was awarded the Guggenheim Fellowship in 2008. Today, the president of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, Edward Hirsch announced that 190 new fellowships were choosen from more than 2,600 applicants (news ). Yonggang won the competition because of his achievement on atomistic-based continuum theory for nanomaterials. A complete list is here

Wei Hong's picture

Prof. Zhigang Suo and Prof. Frans Spaepen elected to the National Academy of Engineering

Prof. Zhigang Suo and Prof. Frans Spaepen, of the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, have just been elected to the National Academy of Engineering.  They are among 65 new members elected to the NAE in 2008.  Update:  Also elected this year is another mechanician, Robert Dodds, of the University of Illinois.

Ji Wang's picture

Professor Y. C. Fung is the recipient of the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize of 2007

Professor Y. C. Fung, Professor Emeritus of Bioengineering at UC San Diego's Jacobs School of Engineering, is the recipient of the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize of 2007.

The Russ Prize is presented biannually to an outstanding candidate in the field of bioengineering who has made significant contributions to improving the human condition through research, development, teaching, or management. The recipient receives a $500,000 cash award and an engraved gold medallion.

Rui Huang's picture

AAM: Newly Elected Fellows

The American Academy of Mechanics is pleased to announce that
Jacob Fish, the Rosalind and John J. Redfern Chaired Professor of Engineering at
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, and Martin Ostoja-Starzewski, Professor of
Mechanical Science & Engineering at University of Illinois have both been
elected as Fellows of the Academy. They will be presented with certificates

Zhigang Suo's picture

h-indices of Timoshenko medalists

In preparing cases for faculty appointments, my colleagues in other fields often ask about citations of each candidate and his or her comparees.  Despite obvious resistance, my colleagues give following reasons:

Wing Kam Liu won the 2007 Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award

At the 2007 ASME Congress, in Seattle, Professor Wing Kam Liu won the 2007 Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award.  Wing Kam was a past chair of the Applied Mechanics Division, and has made seminal contributions in the field of computational mechanics.

What's Your Problem?

Rather than scratching heads when faced with a seemingly impossible contradiction in a job, engineers could do worse than apply the Triz theory.

There has been quite a buzz around Triz, the Russian theory of problem solving, for some time. Since it was fully refined in the mid-1980s its use has been slowly spreading as word gets round, much like the increasing popularity of a political movement.

2007 Timoshenko Medal Acceptance Speech by Thomas J.R. Hughes

Tom Hughes wins the 2007 Timoshenko MedalApplied Mechanics Division Banquet, Sheraton Hotel, Seattle, Washington, November 13th, 2007.


Subscribe to RSS - mechanician

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate